It’s been so long that we’ve been apart….

Whatever your reason for not being in touch with loved ones as you want to, it feels just as heartbreaking. Whether you are being stopped from seeing someone or whether it’s in one of your best interests not to have contact it’s tough on both sides for many different reasons.

COVID-19 has put most of us in this position with loved ones that we don’t live with and although I wrote this poem before Covid even existed doesn’t mean that it’s not relevant.

In this country (UK) we are getting ready to open the country back up after going through our third lockdown. Hearing on the news that countries close to us are going back into lockdown, is frightening and gives a huge sense of the unknown to us all.

I hope this poem helps others to understand how humans cope and what most of us feel whilst missing or being separated from someone we love.

.

I have a big day ahead 

Not sure how it’ll go

But with all of my heart 

I want it to flow.

.

I hope it goes well 

It means the world to me 

And I hope that it’s all 

That you hope it to be.

.

I’ll do my best now,

To show all my love.

There’s angels around us,

They’re watching from above.

.

So, I have this big day ahead

And with all of my heart 

I can’t wait to see you 

It’s so long, we’ve been apart.

.

I love you with all 

With all of my soul and heart

I want you to know 

That this is now our new start.

.

I have a big day ahead 

Not sure how it’ll be

But this day will forever stay

In my memory.

.

Fromtheheart

Published by

Fromtheheart

I just write. When I'm in the mood for writing, the words just flow without a break, and that's when my poetry makes the most sense and becomes the most relatable. I just hope this blog, will help people, so they can read and enjoy or at least feel touched by what I write. I’m a survivor of abuse, emotional, physical and sexual abuse. I was abused from a young age until I realised I didn’t have to live like that anymore about 10 years ago. I’m now nearly 40 and like most of us, my life is ever changing. So, if you would like to… walk with me through my days and read my words. May they be relatable, bring comfort but most importantly let you know that you aren’t alone in your emotions. My journey to happiness and confidence has been slow. Sometimes excruciatingly slow. But I will get there. I have air in my lungs for a reason and I’m ready to find out why...

Leave a comment